• Sat. Jun 22nd, 2024


Right Time Right News

T20 World Cup 2024 update see How many Teams to play for the First time

ByAnubhav Sharma

Apr 11, 2024
T20 world cup

T20 World Cup 2024 Teams Update: The World Cup of cricket’s shortest format will be held in June. The matches will begin on June 1st. This time the World Cup will be played in the USA and West Indies. West Indies has hosted it before, but this tournament will be played in the USA for the first time. What’s new in this year’s World Cup? We’ll tell you one by one. Today you should know how many teams are playing this time and which teams will be in which group.

20 teams are playing in the T20 World Cup 2024

A total of 20 teams from around the world are participating in the T20 World Cup 2024, and their names have been announced. Earlier in 2022, when this tournament took place, 16 teams participated, but this is the first time 20 teams will be participating. Since West Indies and the USA are hosts, their places were already confirmed. After that, the teams that remained in the top 8 in the 2022 World Cup also got direct entry. Besides Team India, Australia, England, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka are included.

Teams ranked by ICC rankings also got entry

Teams that were in the top 10 of the ICC T20 rankings by November 14, 2022, were also given a place. Therefore, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have got a place. After that, the remaining teams have qualified through qualifiers, which were recently organized by the ICC. Ireland and Scotland from Europe have got a place. PNG (New Papua Guinea) from East Asia Pacific has secured its place. Canada from America and Nepal and Oman from Asia have been included. Namibia and Uganda from Africa have also got entry. In this way, a total of 20 teams have been finalized.

ICC has made 4 groups for the World Cup

Now talking about groups, ICC has divided the 20 teams into a total of 4 groups. Group A includes India and Pakistan. In addition to these teams, Ireland, Canada, and the USA are also included. In Group B, besides England and Australia, there are Namibia, Scotland, and Oman.

Super 8 will follow the group stage

ICC has placed New Zealand and West Indies in Group C of the World Cup along with Afghanistan, PNG, and Uganda. In Group D, besides South Africa and Sri Lanka, there are Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal. ICC has taken care to keep two big teams along with smaller teams in each group so that all teams have a full chance to progress. The teams that will be in the top 2 in their respective groups will advance to the Super 8s. The journey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *